Response to questions about my book

Posted: August 4, 2008 in About my books

Many people have now read my book, “The Body of Christ in all her glory,” and I am getting a fair amount of feedback about it.  Here in our own fellowship, for my midweek study the past three weeks, I simply read to everyone from my book.  Several comments and questions have shown that the book is being a blessing and that God is using it in people’s lives.  I thought that it might be good for me to answer a couple of questions that have been asked:

Q#1:  Someone asked me why I included the story in my book about Don buying a house for Betty just before she passed away, especially since he knew that she probably would not live very long at that point?

My answer:  Really all of the stories I included in the book are there because they reveal great love that people had for this woman and her family, as well as for others.  It was the exceptional love demonstrated by the people in our church that transformed our church and brought revival to us.  Don sought to buy this house for Betty so that she could have one of her lifelong dreams fulfilled, and she lived in it only about three days.  I didn’t include one additional detail in my book, but because Betty was so weak at the end due to lack of oxygen, she never once even got to see the upstairs of her new house.  Nonetheless, having her own house was a great blessing to her.

Q#2:  Someone in our fellowship made this comment about all of the incredible loving acts that were performed for Betty and her family:  “Well, I’m glad that we know what is expected of us.”

My Answer:  There was never an emphasis at that time that anything was expected of any of us.  I don’t ever remember a sermon comment about how we in the body of Christ need to show our love to each other in of the tangeable and incredible ways that it was shown by us.  Really, we in our church simply focused upon Jesus and His word was taught to us.  It was the Lord who worked in our hearts and gave us this great love first for this family, and then this same attitude began to be demonstrated towards all who had need.   This was the love of God poured out in our hearts and all of the loving acts of people were based upon His love working in our hearts.

Finally, I would like to ask you that if you have read my book and could give me a five star review for it, could you please go to amazon.com and/or barnesandnoble.com, do a search for either my name or the title of the book, and then write a review of the book?  Thank you!!!

If I have other questions come up that inspire a response, I will add to this post.  God bless,

JimB

Leave a Reply

